Blue

Is no part of you,
but wherein you dwell and die.
Don’t shrug at me,
I would not know you deeply.

Could avarice covet you?
He does not see beneath the rough,
Or understand the secret to your wealth.

A twist of the wrist,
you’re finished. Be grateful
I do not fancy
your companions,

loan sharks and school masters
making shaky backstreet deals
while the midnight choir looks on.

If I knew better, I’d forget
I ever knew you,
shake my head and laugh
when they ask.

 

Inspired my both the http://www.napowrimo.net/ prompt to write something involving a seashell (I used the Shoulderblade Sea Cat) and Robert Lee Brewer’s prompt (http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2014-april-pad-challenge-day-19) to title the poem with a color.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

